Tuesday, December 4, 2012

Fifty Shades of Grey

Hey everyone! For my last post I am going to talk about a famous sex book that everyone was reading on the train, on the bus, while driving, on the toilet, in their bath tubs...
Yes, it's just that good!

When I was reading these books, I had my kindle with me EVERYWHERE! However these books raise a question to society: Is it wrong to read sex books? Do these books promote sex slavery or even force people to WANT to act upon these acts that they have read?



In my opinion, I don't think it's morally wrong to read sex books. In fact, those genre of books are actually my favorite to read. It doesn't mean that I am a sex addict or a pervert. It's just the type of books I like to read. Just like how some people enjoy watching adult cartoons like Family Guy or South Park. That does not make them children abusers, rapists, or perverts. Neither does it mean that just because they enjoy watching it, that they're going to go out there and sexually assault a child.

It's just a form of entertainment.

I do believe, however, that sex books...in particular, Fifty Shades, promotes sex slavery. And I'm not talking about human trafficking or anything of that sort.
By sex slavery, I mean...the type of acts that are taken place in the book.
BLINDFOLDS. CUFFS. SEX TOYS. MASTER. SEX ROOM.

I mean anyone may want to spice up their sex life with their significant other and there's absolutely nothing wrong with that. So do these books force people to want to act upon these acts? Yes....maybe.

However, it only turns into a problem when the wrong person reads these books and wants to act upon it.
And by wrong I mean-sick people, cynic people, rapists, and perverts.

So, why do people enjoy reading or are obsessed with Fifty Shades? 
 It may have to do a lot with FANTASY. 

WHAT'S YOUR OPINION ON FIFTY SHADES OF GREY? DO YOU THINK THAT SEX BOOKS SHOULD BE ILLEGAL? DO YOU THINK THAT SEX BOOKS EXPLOIT WOMEN?

By the way-Don't forget to go watch the movie when it comes out :)  
       


Sunday, December 2, 2012

Twilight

Happy Sunday everyone! So today as I sit at home listening to all this sappy music, I decided to write a blog post on something sappy...something almost all my friends love...
TWILIGHT!
Beast & Beauty

Truth be told, I was never a fan of these books or the movies. I did not give it attention at all.  In some of my classes, Twilight was brought up and I'm like, "Oh god."
Some people are absolutely obsessed. Team Jacob this, Team Edward THAT.
My best friend Amy seriously has a standing Jacob by her bed.

One day, I finally gave in, after all the talk about how great Breaking Dawn 2 was. Yes, I, Desiree Soto, finally sat one night and literally watched every.single.freaking twilight movie, including the new one. Quite honestly, I loved every one of them.
BUT- now I sit here and think- why do girls absolutely love movies like this?
I mean think about it, it's a love story about a human and a vampire...and a wolf
(I love you Jacob.)
Is it because it's a beautiful love story or because psychologically us women dwell on having a relationship depicted on movies-that in fact WILL NEVER happen?
Because c'mon, we have all gone through heartbreaks, through breakups, and makeups but women especially go through it the hardest.
No I am not a feminist. 

No I'm not saying that relationships can't have great love stories but I've seen some girls really compare their relationship to movies. For example, I've seen captions under pictures such as, "Our relationship is just like The Notebook." Really? Have you lost your memory? Have you been together for 50+ years?

Back to blood sucking monsters and wolves...Why did I, a female, enjoy the Twilight movies?
I personally enjoyed watching these movies because it was a love story out of the ordinary. The fact that Bella doesn't care that her boyfriend is a vampire and completely gives up her "normal" life just to be with him is interesting. The fact that there was just more to the common world Bella and every human was living in kept my attention. Although I joke around and say I now want a wolf as a pet, I don't sit there and say "Ugh, I need me an Edward."

In conclusion, why are people so obsessed with Twilight? Is it because they want the romance or do they just enjoy the drama?


Because, at the end of the day, Twilight is about two guys fighting over a girl with the exception of the last movie.
And I mean, c'mon, who wouldn't mind that?






Called Off Duty

Hey everyone!
So as a girl, if you recognize this picture:
Then you're either a gamer girl (weirdo, just kidding).
Or a recently ignored girlfriend (that's me haha).

Yup, that's right folks.
Call of Duty. 
This is the First Person Shooter that's been keeping our boys warm on those lonely nights. 
This is the "other woman" who's constantly taking him away from our arms.
And after a while, most girls tend to feel like this:
WOULD YOU?!?!?!?

Don't get me wrong, I can understand the appeal of it.
Most guys think of themselves as warriors. It's built into their genes to want to be an Alpha, Top Dog, "N00B K1LL3R", whatever it takes to get validation for being a badass dude and this game full of guns provides that chance at no cost of lost limbs or death.

The guys I know tend to love this game.
They talk kill ratios, maps, gun models and perks.
But there's one thing they talk about that I love to hear just because I think it's hilarious.
They talk about their most well played games like veterans discussing war stories.

You can tell she's super attracted...

They always talk about that time they slaughtered tons of guys in a Deathmatch and were ranked first with barely any kills.
BUT!
None have ever admitted that it could've been that everyone else, oh, I don't know....sucked?
I know there's some amazing 12 year old players out there but how about that one time you did amazing was against a group of preteens?  


One thing that I have to say is that this game gets rid of aggression for a player who's good at playing it.
For someone who's not good, this game will make you want to kill whoever's on the other side of the screen screaming through his mic that "you suck".
Some people believe that it's the closest we're going to get to killing people without committing any crimes.
At least until the Hunger Games becomes a real thing.

God I hope not....


But really, adults and especially parents are becoming more and more concerned about these games because studies have shown that due to hours of playing games with guns, killing, etc, gamers have become more aggressive.

Do you think games such as Call of Duty lead people to commit crimes or becoming more aggressive?

Wednesday, November 28, 2012

SnapChat Me!

Hey everyone! So I know you all know that the new "cool thing" to do is SnapChat.  And...if you haven't downloaded the app yet...either you don't have an Iphone/some other smartphone or...you're just out of the loop! (It's okay, my best friend Amy put me on SnapChat LAST WEEK, haha.)

It's like every day a new form of media is being created; as if Instagram wasn't enough. BUT- SnapChat is so much fun! 
For those of you that do not know what SnapChat is, it's an app where you can send any picture you want and it will disappear after a time limit in which you set...without the possibility of it being screenshotted. 
However, this app has raised a concern: Is it sexting or just pure fun?

In today's society, it is so much easier for one to put themselves in a situation that the next day you're like "Oh no! What the heck did I do?"
Especially as college students, we all know a friend or two who have put themselves in the situation of sexting, whether it be on the internet or a simple text.  It's become such a huge issue; No one is safe! I mean, Kim Kardashian wasn't and neither was Paris Hilton. At the end of the day, if you sext with the wrong person or if IT gets to the hands of the wrong person-you're doomed!

However, the makers of this app created SnapChat in a way that people can still sext except your picture is only seen for a couple of seconds AND if your picture IS screenshotted, you're notified.


However, IS THIS OKAY? OR DOES IT JUST PROMOTE SEXTING EVEN MORE?
I mean, hey if that's your thing then go right ahead.

What do my friends and I use it for? 
Getting by a boring class. I'm alone on the Starbucks line. I'm trying to ignore someone. 
Simply, plain fun.

Making funny faces. Snapshotting something random. Yep, those are basically my snapshots to my friends.

Anyway, however you decide to use this app, STAY SAFE!

DOES ANYONE THINK SNAPCHAT IS JUST ADDING TO THE ISSUES OF SEXTING? HOW DO YOU USE IT?

Tuesday, November 27, 2012

Walking Idiot

Hey! This is my first blog ever and I hope you all enjoy! My first post will be about something super POPULAR and a show that has become one of my favorites.
Nobody ever thought to take the other highway side huh...
Why would I want to talk about zombies?
It's become one of the things everyone talks about...and that almost EVERY show is about.
I know old spanish people who don't even understand English who watch it and grasp what they can!
When that happens, you can guess it's the "ish" right now.

Now what specifically would I like to talk about?
One of the characters that everyone rags on, the youngest badass ever, Carl.
Zombies? I kill that!
His growth from the first episode has really zoomed by during all the episodes.
But why did everyone hate him at first?
I got to certain episodes and finally understood.
It finally hit me.
He was an idiot.
I'm gonna poke you because you're stuck in the hardest thing ever.
Mud.
This really nailed it for me. I could deal with all the "disobeying his parents" thing because, geesh, he's a kid in a post-apocalyptic world. He obviously knows what to do more than his cop dad and cheating mom.
When I say it like that, it doesn't convey the sarcasm I meant it to...
Anyways, yes, he was quite the dummy throughout season 1 and 2.
But then, here is season 3 and....

Carl: "Zombie, you're grounded...forever." *Bang!*
There's an eight month time jump between season 2 and 3 and you can tell Carl has seen some pretty crazy stuff!
Now he's all like, "Mom, here's some medical supplies, I killed some walkers to get them."
NO FREAKING BIGGIE!
Ok, maybe he didn't say it like that...
But he should've.
He's grown so much. You can tell in the way he's learned how to clear houses from walkers in a safe manner.
Not walking up to a zombie and trying some poking just for the LOL's.
He's becoming more and more like Rick, the dad he looks up to.
Trying to protect everyone as best he can and though he's still quite the reckless little bastard,
he does it for the right reason.
I look forward to seeing how he grows up.
According to my cousin, he barely ages in the comic so this kid is probably gonna look way older than his comic counterpart in like two years.


And I hope the show still goes on so I can see how much more of a badass he becomes.
:D

What does everyone think about this show?  Anyone have a favorite character?